Choreography by Alexei Ratmansky
Music by Igor Stravinsky
Costumes by Richard Hudson
Lighting by Brad Fields

TIMING: 16:00


Dumbarton was given its World Premiere by American Ballet Theatre at the Metropolitan Opera House, New York, on May 24, 2011, danced by Michele Wiles, Thomas Forster, Isabella Boylston, Joseph Gorak, Misty Copeland, Eric Tamm, Yuriko Kajiya, Luis Ribagorda, Veronika Part and Roddy Doble.

Concerto in E-flat (Dumbarton Oaks) is a chamber concerto by Igor Stravinsky, named for the Dumbarton Oaks estate of Robert Woods Bliss in Washington, D.C., who commissioned it for his thirtieth wedding anniversary. Composed in Stravinsky's neo-classical period, the piece is scored for a chamber orchestra of flute, clarinet, bassoon, two horns, three violins, three violas, two cellos and two double basses. The three movements, Tempo giusto, Allegretto and Con moto, performed without a break, total roughly twelve minutes.

Copyright 2011 Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.