Her Notes

Choreography by Jessica Lang
Music by Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel (Excerpts from “Das Jahr”)
Costumes by Bradon McDonald
Lighting by Nicole Pearce

Composer Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel, sister to the well-known composer Felix Mendelssohn, was never encouraged to publish her work because she was a woman and it would lower her class in society. Despite this, as a highly skilled pianist and composer, she wrote over 400 works for the piano – the instrument that she had access to in her home. Her most famous piano piece, Das Jahr, (The Year) was written as she and her husband traveled on a yearlong journey. At the end of each month, on different colored pieces of paper, she wrote a musical reflection of their experience. Das Jahr is 13 movements, one movement for each month and a final postlude that reflects the end of her year.

Her Notes received its World Premiere by American Ballet Theatre on Friday, October 21, 2016 at the David H. Koch Theater, New York.

© Copyright 2003-2016 Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.