Choreography by Alexei Ratmansky
Music by Peter Ilyitch Tchaikovsky (Souvenir d’un lieu cher: Meditation and Scherzo)
Orchestrated by Alexander Glazunov
Costume Design by Keso Dekker
Lighting by Brad Fields

TIMING: 14:00

Souvenir d'un lieu cher, which translates to "memory of a dear place" was written for violin and piano by Peter Ilyitch Tchaikovsky between March and May 1878. It consists of three movements, Meditation, Scherzo and Melodie. A work for four dancers, Alexei Ratmansky’s choreography uses two movements, Meditation and Scherzo.

Souvenir d'un lieu cher received its World Premiere by the Het National Ballet on February 16, 2012 in Amsterdam danced by Anna Tsygamkova, Jozef Varfa, Megan Zimny Gray and Artur Shesterikov. It received its American Ballet Theatre Company Premiere at the Metropolitan Opera House in New York City on July 3, 2017 danced by Stella Abrera, Sarah Lane, Marcelo Gomes and Alban Lendorf.


© Copyright 2017 Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.