Photos: Rosalie O'Connor.

© Copyright 2015
Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.

Summer Intensive

The ABT Summer Intensive Program

“The mission of ABT’s Summer Intensive is to cultivate a universal understanding of the art form at its highest level, emphasizing not only the importance of high quality and brilliant technique, but also dance as an expressive vehicle to create art.”
-Kevin McKenzie, Artistic Director


American Ballet Theatre’s Summer Intensive has earned a reputation for being the most thorough and rewarding dance experience a student can have during the summer. Under the supervision of ABT’s Artistic Director Kevin McKenzie and Artistic Director of Summer Intensives Melissa Allen Bowman, the program offers top quality teachers and master guest teachers that are dedicated to the learning process and growth of each individual student. Class size will be limited. Students participate in a minimum of four classes per day with ABT’s renowned faculty, and enjoy a comprehensive curriculum that includes exposure to ABT artists, history and repertory. The ABT Summer Intensive focuses on developing well-rounded dancers by exposure to a wide variety of disciplines with an emphasis on classical ballet technique and key elements of ABT’s National Training Curriculum.

The curriculum of the 2015 ABT Summer Intensive will include both high level technique classes and lecture courses on subjects critical to the development of a complete dancer. ABT’s teaching philosophy is to create dancers that are versatile rather than stylized, who are thus prepared to work with any company. Classes for the 2015 Summer Intensive may include:

Ballet Technique
Men’s Technique
Men’s Variations
Acting for Dancers/Mime
Musical Theater
Dance History
Meet the Artist
Injury Prevention

Though some lecture offerings may vary by site, the daily structure and curriculum of all Summer Intensive programs is identical. Students take a minimum of four classes per day, consisting of daily technique and pointe, followed by the supplemental classes listed above. In addition, dancers will have rehearsals on occasional evenings for a final performance showcasing selections from ABT’s repertoire.

ABT's 2015 Summer Intensive students will be exposed to a level of training unmatched by any other summer program. The faculty will consist of ABT artistic staff, ABT alumni, guest teachers and accomplished pianists. Summer Intensive instructors include:

KEVIN McKENZIE, ABT Artistic Director
MELISSA ALLEN BOWMAN, Artistic Director, Summer Intensives and
Director, Children’s Division of the ABT Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis School
FRANCO DE VITA, Artistic Director, ABT Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis School
KATE LYDON, Director, ABT Studio Company

Faculty will be announced shortly, please check back for details. Thank you.

Elizabeth Aymong, Director, Summer Intensive
Naomi Gewanter, Summer Intensive Manager
Kathryn Pfaff, Summer Intensive Assistant
American Ballet Theatre has a limited number of full and partial scholarships to the 2015 Summer Intensive. All students are considered for merit-based scholarships. There is no application process. American Ballet Theatre will notify scholarship recipients at the time of acceptance. ABT is unable to offer financial aid at this time.

ABT National Training Scholar Program:
The goal of the National Training Program is to encourage young dancers to continue their dance training and complete their academic education in their home communities. To accomplish this goal, ABT awards scholarships to a small number of promising young dancers, ages 12-18, after participating in the ABT Summer Intensive. Scholarships cover the full cost of Summer Intensive tuition, as well as a portion of students’ summer housing and year-round training expenses. The dancers are required to attend the Summer Intensive program again the following summer. There is no application process for this program. National Training Scholars are chosen each year from the student body of the ABT Summer Intensives, and are notified by mail after the Nominating Committee meets in the Fall.
2014-2015 National Training Scholars:
We are pleased to announce the following recipients of this year’s National Training Program Scholarships:

Austen Acevedo, Anya Hart, Chloe Hebdon, Tegan Maddux^, Cynthia Ryan, Kennedy Sheriff^, Mimari Shide, Alexandra Smith, Keiko Tsuchiya, Jack Wolff^

Congratulations to them all!

^ Bender Foundation Scholar

ABT Summer Intensive Alumni have gone on to have successful careers with American Ballet Theatre and ABT's Studio Company.

Isabella Boylston (Principal), David Hallberg (Principal), Misty Copeland (Soloist), Joseph Gorak (Soloist), Craig Salstein (Soloist), Devon Teuscher (Soloist), Roman Zhurbin (Soloist), Sterling Baca (Corps de Ballet), Alexandra Basmagy (Corps de Ballet), Skylar Brandt (Corps de Ballet), Claire Davison (Corps de Ballet), Brittany DeGrofft (Corps de Ballet), Patrick Frenette (Corps de Ballet), April Giangeruso (Corps de Ballet), Nicole Graniero (Corps de Ballet), Melanie Hamrick (Corps de Ballet), Blaine Hoven (Corps de Ballet), Catherine Hurlin (Corps de Ballet), Gabrielle Johnson (Corps de Ballet), Pascal Knopp (Corps de Ballet), Isadora Loyola (Corps de Ballet), Hannah Marshall (Corps de Ballet), Kaho Ogawa (Corps de Ballet), Patrick Ogle (Corps de Ballet), Lauren Post (Corps de Ballet), Calvin Royal III (Corps de Ballet), Arron Scott (Corps de Ballet), Gabe Stone Shayer (Corps de Ballet), Eric Tamm (Corps de Ballet), Cassandra Trenary (Corps de Ballet), Nathan Vendt (Corps de Ballet), Paulina Waski (Corps de Ballet) Katherine Williams (Corps de Ballet), Lily Wisdom (Corps de Ballet), Lauren Bonfiglio (Apprentice), Scout Forsythe (Apprentice), Courtlyn Hanson (Apprentice), Emily Hayes (Apprentice), Connor Holloway (Apprentice), Raphael Spyker (Apprentice), Hanna Bass (Studio Company), Aran Bell (Studio Company), Rachelle Di Stasio (Studio Company), Breanne Granlund (Studio Company), Erica Lall (Studio Company), Tyler Maloney (Studio Company), Larkin Miller (Studio Company), Samuel Rodriguez (Studio Company), Clara Superfine (Studio Company)