Support America’s National Ballet Company® DONATE NOW

Repertory Archive

Ann Hould-Ward


Ann Hould-Ward’s Broadway credits include: The Visit, The People in the Picture, A Free Man of Color and A Catered Affair, both of which received Drama Desk nominations, Company, Dance of the Vampires, Beauty and the Beast (1994 Tony Award, as well as American Theatre Wing’s Design Award, Ovation Award and an Oliver Award nomination for Best Costume Design); Into the Woods (Tony, Drama Desk nominations, Outer Critics Circle nomination and Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Award), Falsettos, Sunday in the Park with George (Tony, Drama Desk Nominations), Harrigan ‘N’ Heart, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, St. Joan, Three Men on a Horse, Timon of Athens, In the Summer House, Little Me and The Moliere Comedies.

Her Off-Broadway credits include: Classic Stage Company: Passion (revival); The Public Theatre: Hamlet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream and House Arrest.  Additional plays include Russian Transport, The Blue Flower, Wings, In the Grand Manner, Let Me Down Easy, Road Show, Surviving Grace, Lobster Alice and Cymbeline.

Regional credits include: Sacramento Theatre Company: Romeo and Juliet, Henry IV, Parts 1 and 2, 5th Avenue Theatre, Seattle: Secondhand Lions, a musical based on the movie of the same name; and over 100 credits in regional theaters.

Opera credits include: Metropolitan Opera: Peter Grimes; New York City Opera: The Most Happy Fella; Los Angeles Opera: Mahagonny. Hould-Ward also did costumes for the movie Strike! and costumes for the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Circus.

Other credits include work with Alvin Ailey Dance Company: Reminicin’, Saddle Up and Morning Star; Ballet Hispanico, San Francisco Ballet and Lar Lubovitch Dance Company.  Hould-Ward’s work for American Ballet Theatre includes Artemis (2003), Meadow (1999), Othello (1997) and The Pied Piper (2001).

Hould-Ward’s awards include U.S. Representative for the International Design Quadrennial in Prague.  She is also a recipient of the Fashion Institute of Technology’s Patricia Zipprodt Award.