Support America’s National Ballet Company® DONATE


Symphonie Concertante

David H. Koch Theater
New York, New York

Scene from Symphonie Concertante. Photo: Marty Sohl.

Symphonie Concertante

Choreography by George Balanchine
Revival Staged by Susan Jones
Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Costumes by Theoni V. Aldredge
Lighting by David K.H. Elliott

Running Time: 32 minutes

Set to Mozart’s “Sinfonia Concertante in E flat Major for Violin, Viola, and Orchestra,” Symphonie Concertantepairs two principal dancers with the solo violin and viola. A beautiful and simple structure emerges as the dancers weave in and out of the music.

"...a jewel in every sense...glistening, intricately cut...seeing this ballet was - I'd call it a miracle."

- Deborah Jowitt , The Village Voice

"Happiness is Symphonie Concertante, and it has been destined for success..."

- Kisselgoff , The New York Times

"...a masterpiece of early Balanchine, combining a sophisticated understanding of Mozart's music with simplicity of structure and step..."

- Minneapolis Star and Tribune